Beware: Your Facebook ‘Couple Challenge’ picture can be misused for revenge porn and deepfake crimes warn Pune police; Know how to keep your personal photos secured on FB

Your Facebook 'Couple Challenge' picture can be misused

Posting pictures on Facebook with your better half can be dangerous and can cause harm to a person’s life. On social media a new challenge, the ‘Couple Challenge’ is all over Facebook, many married couples have posted their romantic pictures as part of a challenge without giving it a second thought. Also Read: Assam University Student Held for ‘Fake’ Facebook Post on Flood Relief Appeal by CM Sarbananda Sonowal

With various kinds of cybercrimes on the rise, these pictures may be misused for morphing, vengeance, porn, and other related cybercrimes” On the account of it, a couple of days ago Pune city police tweeted, on its official account, “Think twice before you post a picture with your spouse. Also Read: Facebook built a new robot walks on power lines to install fiber-optic cable

A ‘cute’ challenge can go wrong if not careful! #BeAware.” Along with the tweet, police also uploaded an image “#Think Privacy Aspects# Cyber Police Station, Pune City”.

Officials said they have got numerous complaints from people who have undergone harassment as their photographs and personal information were misused. Their photographs were morphed and uploaded on pornographic websites by illicit elements due to reasons like rivalry or thwarted romantic advances.

It is a very serious warning since a lot of social media users only complete the tasks of such trends and do not think about the further outcomes.

Keep Your Personal Photos Secured on Facebook

To keep your photos private on Facebook, never share it publically. Whenever you share any information of any kind on the platform, whether it is status updates, photos of yourself, friends, or family, always share them with your friends and not the public. When you post a picture, you can choose the option of ‘Share with Friends’. There is another choice to share a picture with exclusively a particular list of people. You can click on ‘Share With Except’ and then add people who you do not want to be checking your updates. Never choose the ‘Share with Public’ option because since then your post will be available in the public domain and anyone can share it anywhere.


Connect With US- Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *